Tags

,

It was a rough work day and I ran a bunch of errands both on my lunch break and on my way home. I’m mentally and emotionally exhausted. All I want to do is lounge on the couch and watch some mindless TV. But I haven’t posted anything today so I must sit and write. That’s the point of the challenge – sit down, write and post. Even when you don’t feel like it. Because the more you do it, the easier it is to do. Right? Right!

Yesterday, RHWDad (aka @KaltonEly) talked about his home server in his day one challenge post over on Parallel Tangents. At the end of his post, RHW asked:

So where do you call home… and why?

I think that’s an excellent topic and I immediately decided the answer deserved a blog post rather than a simple reply.

Without a doubt my “home server” is Moon Guard US. It’s not the first server I rolled on back in Vanilla. It’s not even the first RP server I rolled on. But it’s definitely the place I think of as home.

My memory tells me the very first server the hubby and I rolled on back in 2004 was Bronzebeard. I could be wrong though; my memory isn’t what it used to be. Wherever it was, I don’t have any toons there anymore – though I do remember that my very first toon was a Dwarf Paladin. I also remember it was a PVE server and… something was missing from my gaming experience. After spending a few afternoons and evenings browsing through the forums, I became intrigued by the idea of RP and rolled a Human Rogue over on Argent Dawn. Leyota is still there today – my Vanilla baby that I’ve never been able to bring myself to delete even though I haven’t logged into her in years. (Hey, that’s what my $15/month server storage fee is for!)

Back in Vanilla, Argent Dawn was THE RP server. I remember sitting in que for an hour just to log in some nights. I fell in love with RP and had a blast playing there with <Forerunners>. Unfortunately, the guild fell apart when the two leaders, a husband and wife team, left the guild to join a raiding one, leaving alts in their place. To say I was discouraged by the experience is an understatement.

In 2006, some real life friends invited the hubby and I to roll on Muradin with them where they were part of a casual social guild. I played there off and on through BC, but I missed the RP experience. I tried playing on Argent Dawn again, but nothing I encountered fit quite like that first guild did. I tried a few other RP servers and none of them felt quite right either.

Shortly before Wrath, I became determined to find an RP server I could call home. I combed the forums and liked what I saw about Moon Guard. I rolled a Rogue there, Kamyla, an homage to my first RP character, and quickly found a home with the <League of Lordaeron>. I have so many fond memories of RP questing with friends in the League! Sadly, most of them have left the game, though there’s still a few around and other’s that I stalk watch for on Real ID. (I miss you Cartres!)

When the League went through a reformation period, I joined another guild, then went on to lead it – but that’s a story for another post. As is my hiatus through Mists and my recent return to the game. But when I was finally able to reenter Azeroth, I knew it would be on Moon Guard. The connections I made there through Wrath and Cata stayed with me through a server transfer and two years away from the game.

Once again, I went to the forums and the recruitment thread for <Order of the Horse> caught my eye. I decided to give them a go and I’m so very glad I did! The Horse is full of not only fantastic roll players, but genuinely friendly and all around wonderful people who’ve made me feel right at home.

After all, it’s the people, and the connections we have with those people, that make a house a home.

Until tomorrow, love and /hugs,

The Pink Pally